Akilina's Travels

Ireland!!!!!

Well, I made it to Ireland! I was lucky enough to have great rides through England, my last ride was especially great. Rather than drop me at the ferry harbor in Fishguard, Wales, leaving me in the cold for the next 12 hours until the next ferry, they took me home, fed me, gave me plenty of Carlsburg beer, and we had some interesting conversations about genealogy! I was dropped at the ferry at 1:30 a.m., and made it into Rosslaire, Ireland at about 6:45 a.m. I was immediately picked up by a trucker from Lithuania, who took me almost the whole way…

Sadly, hitching in Ireland isn’t as easy as everyone I had talked to in England thought…

I made it within about 30 kilometers of Clara, where I would be staying, and couldn’t seem to get picked up…one person threw change at me…25 cents…and a girl pulled over, frantically wanting to take me, but having an appointment she couldn’t miss…her way of helping was handing me four bags of chips! Which was okay with me….I hadn’t eaten yet, and it was about 6 p.m.

Someone then complained about me sitting at the gas station…for what reason, I don’t know, but I wasn’t harassing anyone, I wasn’t even doing anything but sitting and reading…there are some strange people out there…So I was told that I would have to go somewhere else, the attendant told me to walk 15km a particular direction…what an idiot! Some guy overheard her, and he decided to take me all the way into Clara, to the place I am staying right now…

Photo by Andreas Andrews www.andreasandrews.com

Photo by Andreas Andrews
http://www.andreasandrews.com

I know I am from Alaska…but I’m FREEZING!!!!! (To make matters worse for me today, I have a slight hangover from last night’s shenanigans!)

Oh, and I will be headed out of Ireland in a couple of days, sadly, bet you can’t guess where I’m headed to now!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2013 by in Hitchhiking/Autostopping and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 6,098 hits
Flag Counter
