Akilina's Travels

Every Little Thing Counts

You know when you are driving, and you see someone holding a sign? A lot of the time, people think that they are begging for money…being lazy…

They think “Why don’t you go get a job?!”

I have been feeling the need lately to explain the things most people don’t understand, or are unwilling to think about, as I have been that person holding the sign, not for money, but for a ride, and the kindness that was granted to me by so many people, led me to realize what kind of world this is…one thing to remember:

You never know who that person is sitting on the side of the road, asking for help…

Homeless © Lyubomir Bukov

Homeless © Lyubomir Bukov

So, while you are thinking “go get a job,” here are some factors to consider:

  • Maybe that person does have a job, it can take anywhere from 2 to 4 weeks to get a first paycheck, what is that person to do to feed themselves until that money comes in?
  • Bad things happen to good people, just because they are asking for help, doesn’t mean they are on drugs, or an alcoholic.
  • Read a sign before you assume; I once had some guy in Ireland throw 25 cents at me thinking I was a beggar, he didn’t even read that I was trying to get somewhere! In the end, he only made himself look like a jackass.

Every little thing you do for someone in need counts, whether you realize it or not…I froze my ass off in Austria, sitting there for over 24 hours, the only people to talk to me were teenage boys shouting crude things at me, and one lady who threw a Snickers bar at me….

Yet, when I was in Italy, not one person thought to put me out, I had a bed to sleep in every night, food to eat, and met some amazing people that cared about what they could do to help, In Ireland, one girl wanted to help so bad, but was unable to due to an appointment, she at least asked if I had eaten, and tossed me a few bags of chips…

Seriously, the smallest thing can brighten a persons day! You may think buying a coffee for that person standing out in the cold isn’t good enough, so you don’t even bother, and instead, you just walk past…trust me, it matters, being that person that once stood out in the cold, the smallest bit of humanity from a stranger changes a person’s outlook on life.

Something happened a couple nights ago that triggered me to write this post:

My sister has four kids (who each have several clubs and other things they participate in), works a full time job at home, goes to college…she is constantly running around doing something, yet she puts things aside when something strikes her; this year will be the second year that she will be gathering Christmas trees to bring to the people who cant afford one, and what does she get out of this? Knowing that she was able to bring a bit of joy to someone’s home, who otherwise wouldn’t have been able to provide a tree or their children.

The other night, her and her husband came home, and began gathering a few sweaters, a sleeping bag, and a couple blankets; come to find out, there was a homeless couple that was going through hard times, losing a job, then their apartment, that my sister had noticed a couple of times. It has been getting quite cold lately, and this couple just moved her. So we brought these things to the couple, my brother-in-law bought them coffee, and to see the girl cry because of something a stranger had done for her…that is worth it…

They were worried about making the couple feel uncomfortable, but when people are on the street, they are already uncomfortable, I cannot explain to you the value of helping, even with a one dollar coffee…

…I don’t mean to get all religious, but the bible and the Quran both state that God sends people to test us, sometimes in the form of angels masking themselves as the less fortunate…next time, instead of turning your nose up at someone, realize who they might be…

I’m reminded of a Brad Paisley song What If She’s an Angel?”

There’s a man standing on the corner
With a sign sayin “will work for food”
You know the man
You see him every morning
The one you never give your money to
You can sit there with your window rolled up
Wondering when the lights going to turn green
Never knowing what a couple more bucks
In his pocket might mean

What if he’s an angel sent here from heaven
And he’s making certain that you’re doing your best
To take the time to help one another
Brother are you going to pass that test
You can go on with your day to day
Trying to forget what you saw in his face
Knowing deep down it could have been his saving grace
What if he’s an angel

Read more: Brad Paisley – What If She’s An Angel Lyrics | MetroLyrics

2 comments on “Every Little Thing Counts

  1. daniel
    December 7, 2013

    this one made me cry! 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 6,139 hits
Flag Counter
